Sri Lanka ring in adjustments, choose to bat; Herath omitted | Cricket – NEWPAPER24


Sri Lanka ring in adjustments, choose to bat; Herath omitted | Cricket

2018-06-14 14:24:56

Toss Sri Lanka choose to bat v West Indies


Sri Lanka made a shock transfer, dropping Rangana Herath for the second Take a look at in Gros Islet, in favour of a debutant seam bowler Kasun Rajitha. Having gained the toss and determined to bat first on a observe he felt was filled with runs, captain Dinesh Chandimal stated the omission of Herath was “tactical”.

Whereas Sri Lanka have strengthened their batting order, fielding seven specialists, their assault – on paper – seems considerably weakened. Not solely have they dropped their most-successful bowler, the assault additionally options three bowlers with 10 Exams or fewer.

Akila Dananjaya (one Take a look at) is the lone specialist spinner as Dilruwan Perera too has been omitted. Rajitha, the right-arm seamer, makes his Take a look at debut instead of the injured Lahiru Gamage. The opposite two males within the frontline assault are Lahiru Kumara (10 Exams), and Suranga Lakmal.

On the batting entrance, there are not any main adjustments. Mahela Udawatte, the opening batsman, makes his debut. Dhananjaya de Silva additionally returned after sitting out of the primary Take a look at.

West Indies, in the meantime, are entering into with an unchanged XI, permitting Devon Smith yet another shot on the opening place. Shimron Hetmyer will stay in reserves.

Herath’s exclusion for the second Take a look at was hinted at by the Sri Lanka selectors earlier than the tour, however the motive they gave was that he could be omitted of 1 recreation to handle his workload. Herath, nonetheless, has solely performed two aggressive video games since February (together with the Trinidad Take a look at). His returns within the first Take a look at have been three for 119.


West Indies: 1 Kraigg Brathwaite, 2 Devon Smit, three Kieran Powell, four Shai Hope, 5 Roston Chase, 6 Shane Dowrich (wk), 7 Jason Holder (capt.), eight Devendra Bishoo, 9 Miguel Cummins, 10 Kemar Roach, 10 Shannon Gabriel

Sri Lanka: 1 Kusal Mendis, 2 Mahela Udawatte, three Dhananjaya de …read more

Source:: New paper 24 – Sports


(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *